The Blind Fisherman sees the light of day.

This *may* not be as profound as the title suggests, but it has nice pictures, so stay with me dear reader, just for a while.

blind-fisherman

Hello again people (and others).

As some of you may know, some of Hopeless, Maine has been published before, but *this* time it is being published entire. That means, with the (rather important) prelude-The Blind Fisherman. We’re dead chuffed about that, and about our new publisher, Sloth Comics.

When Nimue and I started this story many years ago, we started in what is now, the middle-ish bit (but closer to the beginning) . Salamandra was already a young adult and looked like this.

sal

Nimue wrote the script for the whole story, all the way to the end. Yes. This story does have a definite end. (Probably) Then, I was invited to be a guest at an anime con in Portland, Maine and I saw the power of the cute, and dear reader, I was moved. (also-hooked) So… as Nimue and I were on opposite sides of the Atlantic at this point, I sent her a message. Could we just… (ask her, if you ever meet her, how much trouble she has gotten into from people asking her, “can you just…?”) Could we, I asked, just have a story that comes before the main story about Sal as a young girl? (I was picturing *big* eyes, naturally) People would fall in love with her, I thought. Nimue said she would write it, so, orderly sort of chap that I am, I drew the cover and sent it to her. (Carts-horses, I’m not very good at the proper order of things) Nimue wrote the story (now called Personal Demons) and included the savaged teddy bear and key I had shown on the cover. (which is not the cover of the published version. I think I drew four different covers for PD. I had more time on my hands back then, apparently) Are you still with me? Good. So, while waiting for a publisher, I had another idea. Something that would have happened before Personal Demons. It was about a blind fisherman, and…things I can’t say without spoiling it for you. I drew it-ten pages of sequential art with no word balloons at all. I sent it to Nimue and she wrote (bloody gorgeous) poetic accompaniment which added layers to the story the illustrations show. The Blind Fisherman, created impulsively and just because we wanted to, is one of my favourite bits of the tale, and now it is part of the whole. Sloth has collected books one and two (Personal Demons and Inheritance) and put the Blind Fisherman at the beginning, where it belongs. The new volume is called The Gathering. Sloth will be publishing the whole series, to the very end. (Probably four or five more volumes. Book two will be out in 2017) You would think we had gone backwards story-wise as far as possible (or reasonable) but, no. We thought it would be good to have illustrated prose that would compliment the comics, so, Nimue wrote New England Gothic, which happens before the events in The Blind Fisherman. Still with me? I’m impressed! New England Gothic is a bit more than one quarter illustrated and will also be coming out from Sloth, in 2017 (all being well)

I hope (as always) this finds you well, inspired and thriving.

 

 

This entry was posted in Hopeless maine, News, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blind Fisherman sees the light of day.

  1. Nimue Brown says:

    Reblogged this on Druid Life and commented:

    “Could you just…?” And more often than not, yes I can. This is a story about wordy rabbits pulled from hats in the service of art. Things I have done for love and for the sheer joy of doing it – which I am increasingly finding is the only way I want to work… Do hop over to the original blog post for the lovely art.

Leave a Reply

