Opium Dreams.

unknown-gulf-of-night-2

I have never experienced opium dreams, but I have read the exquisite writing of Wilum Pugmyr and I expect that is close enough. (Without the harmful side effects)

I was approached, last year by Centipede press and asked if I would like to illustrate a volume of short fiction by Mr Pugmyr and as the schedule allowed, I jumped on it. This is exactly the sort of writing that brought me into weird fiction in my youth. I would go so far as to say, that Wilum Pugmyr is one of my all time favourite authors in the genre. I was to do ten illustrations for nine stories (Unknown Gulf of Night is longer, so it gets two pieces)

This job has been an absolute (dark) joy for me, and really hardly qualifies as work at all. The image above is the last finished drawing (finished art will be toned and monochrome) for the project and illustrates his tale Unknown Gulf of Night. I will be shrieking and gibbering from the rooftops when the book comes out in May.

Hoping (as always) this finds you well, inspired and thriving.

This entry was posted in illustration, Works in Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

